April 20, 2024 4:13 am
New College Basketball Crown Tournament from Fox Sports Set to Debut in 2025 as NIT Rival

The 16-team College Basketball Crown tournament, officially announced by Fox Sports, will be held in Las Vegas’ MGM Garden Arena and MGM Arena from March 31, 2025, to April 6. AEG is a presenting sponsor of the event, which will air on both Fox and FS1. The NIT, a 32-team tournament that has been around since 1938, serves as a consolation tournament for teams that missed out on the NCAAs. However, some teams like Rick Pitino’s St. John’s opted out of participating in the NIT this year to focus on the transfer portal.

The remaining teams in this year’s NIT will be at-large participants. Only men’s teams will be included in the tournament. The Big Ten, Big 12, and Big East conferences have television agreements with Fox Sports and automatic bids will go to two squads from each conference. This year’s NIT final is set to take place on ESPN and features a matchup between Indiana State and Seton Hall on Thursday.

Leave a Reply