April 21, 2024 11:46 pm
Which countries have recognized a Palestinian state?

The recognition of a Palestinian state has been a contentious issue for many years, with the majority of countries around the world choosing to unilaterally support this cause. Recently, the Palestinian Authority has resumed its efforts to become a full member state of the United Nations, with 137 out of 193 UN states recognizing an independent Palestinian state. However, there are still some exceptions in Western Europe, North America, Australia, Japan, and South Korea.

The declaration of a Palestinian state was made by Yasser Arafat in 1988 following the start of the first Intifada. Algeria was the first country to officially recognize an independent Palestinian state. This was followed by forty other countries including China, India, Turkey and most Arab nations. Africa, the Soviet bloc, Central America and Latin America also recognized the establishment of a Palestinian state.

Over time, the Palestinians have made significant diplomatic strides on the international stage. In 2012 they were granted observer status at the United Nations and in 2011 they became full members of UNESCO. This newfound status allowed them to join the International Criminal Court in 2015 despite objections from certain countries like the United States and Israel. Some European countries like Sweden, Czech Republic, Hungary

Leave a Reply